ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Black is Black

Well, not really. Despite many attempts, as far as I’m aware, a truly black tulip has yet to be grown. I spotted these outside the gym and in the bright sunlight there is definitely a purple tinge, though they looked a lot darker when the sun was behind a cloud. What impressed me the most was that they were still pretty much intact - the tulips in our garden have long since disappeared due to the combined effects of the wind and heavy rain we have had recently.
I’ve remarked before that we are very lucky to belong to a gym that is set in such lovely grounds. And that the views can be appreciated whilst you are doing your workout. Just a small thing, but it definitely lifts the mood before and after a session. We have been enjoying having the gym pretty much to ourselves over the last few weeks, but this afternoon’s announcement will mean guests back in the hotel from next Monday so it may become more crowded after that. And we certainly won’t be back in the pool until the restrictions are further eased because they will definitely favour hotel guests over us gym members when it comes to allocating lanes!
Anyway, I can now officially visit mother indoors from Monday. But I’m going to see her on Sunday, because that’s the sort of rebel I am. As regards hugging friends and family, I didn’t encourage that sort of behaviour prior to covid, and see no reason to change that stance now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.