Maureen6002

By maureen6002

What, no puffins.....?

Bempton. What can I say? Best bird experience since the Galapagos. Amazing! Sounds, sights, smells - just mesmerising. OK there aren’t any puffins on show today - or if there are, we just don’t see them. And to be honest, I’m glad. Their time will come. We’re just six miles away, so I think at least two more visits are justified! 

Today belonged to the mighty Gannet. Close on 800 shots, and I have to choose ONE! Impossible. Gannets nesting, gannets fighting, gannets flying, gannets collecting grass and other nesting materials ....... To think just four weeks ago, I was desperately following single birds in to get a decent shot..... Now I just don’t know where to look. 

I’d really like to write more, to describe the wonder of the day, but for now, I think that’s it. I’ll try to get back to this later. 

Ganneted out, exhausted. I’ve managed to get down to one main and six extras, including 3 collages. 

Oh, and if you notice lots of small black dots on these images, they’re apparently St John’s black flies which were swarming around the cliffs. Very irritating, but, thankfully, not biting! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.