Blipping Forty

By Elspeth

Homeward bound

Today I headed home again having had a really wonderful weekend.

Last night mum, dad & I went to see Nicola Benedetti perform at the new theatre in Greenock. It was the first night of her Silver Violin Tour - the music was sublime and she was charming and humble. Today before leaving, I spent some time with mum, the first time on a mother's day for many years due to living away, so that was very special. All too soon it was time to catch my train. The weather was desperately cold with a biting easterly wind so the aim was to capture the shot as quickly as possible before being swept off my feet! This sculpture sits close to the pier & train station in Gourock. It's the figure of a wee girl with a suitcase, bucket and spade waiting for the ferry to come in. It is such a beautiful piece of work and is a nod to the late 19th, early 20th century history of the town when it was a tourist destination for folks from Glasgow.

Today I felt like that wee girl, heading home after a break away however short, having caught up with family and friends and recharged in mind & in spirit. I hope your weekend has been just as fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.