Localised Weather

My plan was to go and watch some early evening football for today's blip. I had chosen to go to watch Chester Nomads but found that they were using their alternate ground in Handbridge instead of Boughton Hall. Although this wasn't a problem I texted a friend who lives nearby and watches them. He confirmed the location but told me there was a thunderstorm in Chester and it was raining.

Kelsall is only 8 miles from Chester and the weather was lovely here but I decided to gamble that it was only a quick shower and headed for the ground. Halfway to Chester it started to rain and by the time I got within a mile of the ground it was hammering down so I decided to skip the game and head straight home. The slipway to the ring road was flooded and, by now, my windscreen wipers couldn't cope with the force of the rain and traffic was at a crawl. When I reached home the weather was lovely and there had been no rain at all. It is hard to believe there could be such a contrast over 8 miles. To cap it all my friend texted me to say that the game had been called off because of the weather conditions.

My blip was taken when I got home looking in the general direction of Chester and the border. Chester itself is just behind the houses on the right but it gives some idea of the difference in the weather..
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lands End to John O'Groats 1000 Mile Virtual Challenge Update

Day 93 -  West Midlands.  2.3 miles walked. 373.6 miles completed


Only a short walk today through Highgate and Bordersley and then passing close to Birmingham City's ground. At this point the walk picked up the Birmingham and Warwick branch of the Grand Union Canal and I finished around the back of some warehouses between the  Smurfit Kappa Recycling centre and Network Park Industrial Estate. Not the best location.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.