Hazlehead Park

I have seldom caught a glimpse of a red squirrel, and even on the couple of occasions when I have it has been a very fleeting glimpse. Today as I was preparing to leave Hazlehead Park I met one near the overflow car park. He (or she) seemed to have a rather wooden personality, and did not react overly to my presence.

The forecast for the day was predominantly cloudy, and the sky was very overcast while I was in the park. I had gone out early in the expectation that in view of the hour, and the weather, the park would not be busy. I was surprised to find there were a lot of people there. A large group was occupying all the picnic tables in one area.

I think it was the first time I have been to the park since late March. Work on the restoring the cafe, following the fire damage caused by a young arsonist, does not seem to have started yet. Not much colour in the park other than green. Maybe the next time I go the roses will be in flower

Somewhat to my surprise the sky brightened in the afternoon, even though there remained a lot of cloud around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.