Randomness in the border after all the recent rain

It's hard keeping up with a rapidly burgeoning border!
The forget-me-nots have provided welcome colour after the spring daffodils and tulips have all but died back now. 
I have sown nasturtiums in there, and can see poppies growing rapidly in all sorts of places, as I always shake the poppy head seeds into the soil after they finish each season. So I never quite know where they will reappear! 
The perennial plants are now beginning to make their presence felt. 
I look at the places where they've died back over the winter, each day, and some are always more advanced than others. 
I often wonder each autumn as I cut some right back to soil level, or prune off all the woody stems on others, if they will reappear in late spring. We had our walk this morning, and after lunch have been in the summerhouse for awhile reading.
I was reading in bed till almost midnight last night, the book by Michelle Obama, called "Becoming Michelle Obama". I am about a third of the way through it.      
It is totally absorbing. It takes me a while to read a long book, as I usually have a French novel on the go at the same time. 
To add to this list my old friend Peter, (of the   community of streets where we were born and raised), sent me a privately published book called the "Forgotten Forest". 
It's a history of the  Rossendale Valley, Lancashire. 
Not at all stuffy, it contains old and new photos, with the well-written and researched aspects of life there since before Henry VIIIth.  
I could write reams about all  the memories it unlocked immediately, but it would take too long! I am once again behind with blip comments, and thank those of you who comment on mine!   
It's now teatime and I have half an eye on the robin who has once again nested in our climbing hydrangea on the porch. 
The nest is near to the corner of the front room window, well hidden.           

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.