For Dad

I went for a walk this morning before heading over to Vancouver, WA where my parents live. My neighbor grows the most amazing poppies...she must have just the right cultural conditions for them. Her pink ones bloomed a couple of weeks ago, and here’s the orange ones.

Dad has said that he wants to die - he’s not in pain and not anxious and we’ve all spent our alone time with him (Mom and 4 kids). In a lucid moment, his morbid humor surfaced when I mentioned that I was going to go have some lunch...he said that dying was not easy and he didn’t want lunch but could I bring him a tablespoon of strychnine...my dad’s gallows humor to the bitter end. This afternoon he slept and hadn’t woken when I finally left for home. My brother will spend the night camped out in his room in case he needs anything. We hope that he passes painlessly and peacefully. Said with many tears and much heartache. I hope that I haven’t shared too much. Grateful for all of your support and love.

Here’s to dad <3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.