Second-time-around

By Skysea7

Just a few bluebells

This was yesterday at Enys Gardens - just 20 miles away from me.  I go every year but am still always amazed.  The bluebells here flower when everywhere else they are almost finished.  They were 'late' here this year, and I think there are still more to come out.  This is different from the more 'normal' bluebells among trees, because there are large open swathes of them.  Also the bluebells here seem to be a deeper, almost lilac-tinged blue, than the paler blue ones I've seen elsewhere.  I haven't edited or changed the colours at all in this image. They look brilliant with all the fresh new beech leaves.  A couple of places had the bluebells among red-leaved trees - I've forgotten their name! -  maybe copper beech? - but I couldn't get a good shot of those.

There was a really strong cold wind, which produced lots of fast moving clouds.  When the sun came out it was fleeting, so it was a challenge to catch the sun on the flowers and also to get a picture with no people in.  I don' t mind people in the distance, as they give scale, but several of them were wearing bright red, which intruded into the picture too much for me.

I forgot to say - I have a 'thing' about straight horizons - the horizon in this WAS straight but the bluebell area is on a slope!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.