Wensleydale double cheese

I've had a visit to Wensleydale in my head for a while but not felt confident enough in my level of beans to give it a go.  I spotted the wind forecast was low and headed off this morning to see where I ended up. 

Nearing the head of Wharfedale, I was enjoying myself so headed on up Kidstones meeting three short-sleeved and shorts cyclists at the top.  They could not have been warm!  I thought I'd got my clothing right but a winter jacket wouldn't have gone amiss today - what a contrast in two days!  Thankfully, there were no technicals along the way so I got away with it.

The breeze was only going to be in my favour from about this point in my photo around to Hawes (although I'm not really sure it was!) but it was light as predicted, at least. 

Unfortunately, my first cafe option in Aysgarth wasn't open so I stuffed a bar in and had my fingers crossed for Bainbridge.  In luck, I sat out on the green with a giant jacket, swathes of cheese and extra butter, bought a flapjack for the road and enjoyed the fact it was still dry and warm enough to stop.

After taking the shortest, flattest road to Gayle, I took my usual trundle pace up Fleet Moss, kicking out the little flag that kept popping up telling me walking was a distinct possibility. It wasn't the easiest ascent; I still have some fitness to get back but I did manage a little satisfied sing at the top.  There's a lot of rewilding of the hillsides going on with many more plantations than I've noticed before.  A hare ran alongside in a field too at one point with a couple of lambs in tow.  All those sights kept me pedalling along, almost merrily.

Cafe two was now a downhill ride, pretty much.  I knew I'd make it back from here.  Cheese toastie this time, more peppermint tea (I've given up caffeine for now (hmmm... maybe that was why the hill was harder!)) and the last leg home.

Tired, toast and content.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.