Quadrant 3

The mizzly weather arrived as promised this morning so it was destined to be an indoor day.  However, Jen had an appointment for her second vaccination in the next village, so I went along to get some exercise and keep her company.  En route we delivered Tony's spare tomato plants to Hobblers R and A.  The vaccination was quick and we turned for home, straight into the rain!

Back home it was time for lunch, then a bit of recorder practice of the new piece given to me by my tutor, 'Fancy'.  I'm having issues getting a good tone from the bottom F and it will need a fair bit of work.

The showers let up briefly so I took my quadrant out to the mini meadow to see what new wildflowers were growing.  This is Quadrant 3 and is coming on nicely from my previous blip of it.  I can hopefully accurately identify:  red campion; yellow rattle; chicory; sorrel; knapweed; greater willowherb and yarrow, possibly plantain leaves too.  Unlike Tony, who had a rural village school education and knows his plants instinctively, I attended a primary school on a large housing estate so there wasn't a great deal of nature study.  Hence the mini meadow is my classroom which gives me lots of opportunities for research.

We are going to have a family viewing of Galaxy Quest tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.