If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Lady's Smock (Cardamine pratensis )

When we are preparing the Lodge one of my jobs toward the end is to stroll up to the "bins" with any rubbish and recycling.  I always take my camera.  Often things catch my eye.  Today it was these wild flowers.

Lady's Smock is a plant I remember from childhood but I admit I had to wrack my brain to bring the name to mind.  Another plant which is a brassica i.e. related to the cabbages etc.  The species name is from the Latin for for meadow.

An alternative name is Cuckoo flower supposedly because it is said to flower around the time Cuckoos return from migration.  The BTO tracked Cuckoo PJ returned from Africa, its 5th return, around the end of April so there may be some fact behind the name. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.