memory stirrers

Driving about in Northern Ireland is like going back in time for me. It had been such a long time since I'd been home it felt like I was dropping into the past. To be honest, I feel like such a different person now too, that it made the journey all the more profound. I loved being there, but really cannot imagine going back. Such a strange thing to not feel like it's home. I suppose my closest family members aren't there, so that's the main reason why it's a kind of alien place to be now...but full of really powerful memories all the same.

Left the Crawfordsburn Inn after a big Ulster Fry for breakfast and the last bit of craic with the Taylor family, including a frolic in Linda's hotel room with her sister and her husband! :)

Drove until I reached a town where I could see a sign for Belfast. Ended up in Newtownards and called in to see Martina, Gareth and the girls. So great to catch up with them. Mya, Poppy and Eve are wee darlins...and I always get a brilliant laugh with Martina.

Drove home and took a wee detour past my old house in Kingsway Avenue. Still really emotional for me to see it and to think of all the memories it holds, all the things those four walls saw... including me having sneaky cigarettes out the bathroom velux window ;)

I had seen Samson & Goliath, the Harland & Wolff cranes, on my way to Comber on the Friday, but drove past them again today. The whole area has been revamped. I'd wanted to take a photo on Friday, but drove on thinking I'd get it later and, weirdly, I did. I was given a fantastic framed photo of them by the bride and groom as a present for doing the wedding cake! Decided to take this shot on the way back through Belfast as well. They're so imposing, you see them for all over Belfast and I really have a soft spot for them.

Got back to Auntie Lou's where we had my cousin George's birthday tea - a massive Chinese food meal! Ulster Fry for breakfast, Chinese food for tea...that's the diet out the window :)

Really great to see George and Klara and to meet their grandmother Irene too.

Sat up chatting to Auntie Lou that evening. A great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.