earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Langstrothdale

I've got a scary date at the end of June which kicked me out for a long ride on the bike today. I've been so heavily focused on the writing - as well as struggling to deal with the problem of temperature control in this current, strangely cool weather - that I've not been getting out on the bike much. But I was due a day to let the current chapter breathe, as well as needing to give the head a break. The weather has continued to be very showery but the forecast for today suggested there were going to be less around. A window of opportunity was offered and it had to be taken.

As it turned out, the forecast was proved wrong. I got caught by some nasty squalls on the way back home but by then it didn't matter. I'm quite enjoying knocking the wattage back and taking more time over my rides these days - not that there's actually much choice in the matter, to be honest. I was able to wear shorts but very happy to have thought to carry my winter mitts for the top of Fleet Moss. They were sorely needed. 

I was prepared to get around the 80-mile route self-sufficiently on two bottles of water and a couple of bars but when I found the little store open in Kettlewell I grabbed an almond tart and a can of ginger beer. That was a nice bonus, seeing me home without too much stress. It's nice to know that I seem to have a decent base level of fitness. 

Posting this a little after the event, I've just noticed that Bex did the same route a few days later. We both seem to have the same mindset!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.