Herb-paris

Another grey and showery morning spent entering data from my visit to Tetney Blow Wells earlier in the week. This was interspersed by food shopping and then a visit to the hairdresser, my first since last October. For most of the time there was only the two of us in the salon, and it all felt very safe. 

As the rain had seemingly passed, I went for another scouting trip round Old Sulehay. I was delighted to see that many of the spring ephemeral species of the limestone grassland were now in flower, including masses of the dainty Early Forget-me-not and a nice patch of Small-flowered Buttercup. The woodland was looking very special - the Bluebells are still at their peak and have now been joined by foamy sheets of Ramsons. The Herb-paris  colony was looking good, and despite the recent rain, the woodland paths weren't too muddy. 

As an added bonus I heard three Nightingale singing along the southern edge of the wood. I suspect they're actually nesting in the adjacent disused quarry, which is now being managed as a private conservation area, but it was great to hear them -  my third site for Nightingale in a week. All's looking good for next week's tour!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.