Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Snack

I know it’s not that long since my last Stonechat blip, but I was pleased how this turned out and it was nice to get the pair together. The male was holding on tightly to a tasty snack (extra).

It turned out to be a nicer day than I thought it would, but having had a real soaking the last time I headed up to the top of the moor I stuck a rain coat in a rucksack and carried my umbrella with me. Neither were needed, although there was a little light rain at times.

I went up the the main Green Hairstreak territory as I haven’t yet managed a good survey this year. I only managed to find three, but conditions weren’t great and it is getting later in the season. As I was combing the bilberry bushes I did find one smart micro-moth though: Incurvaria oehlmanniella (extra) - for which there are only a handful of Yorkshire records. 



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.