Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Looming

The clouds were looming for most of my walk this afternoon, but it brightened up again as I came home.

This landscape appealed as there's still a contrast between the brown of last year's bracken and the fresh leaved trees and pastures down in the valley. In another month or so this will all seem green, at least until what heather there is left begins to show some colour. The view also puts my zoomed in view of Leeds and the power stations on the skyline from a week ago in some context.

Meanwhile I was trying not to get wound up by the assembly of off-road motorbikes and quad bikes (which are not meant to be on the moor) over the other side of the hill (extra). I did try calling the police number I have stored in my phone for such events, but they must have changed it. Still, they were brazenly in plain sight and sound, so I expect someone else called it in.

I bumped into a stonechat on Sconce Crag, and heard the cuckoo calling again.

And I admit to spending part of the day, and more of the weekend ahead, watching Bundesliga football on the TV, although it's not the same without their vibrant fan culture in the stadia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.