The second half of life..

By twigs

Down the hatch

Today was a 'checking out' day.....

Checking out the SPCA's kittens for suitability as a companion for Minnie then checking out the Boulder Bank for interesting mud patterns.  Unfortunately, I mis-read the tide table so the tide was too high for me to scope out what I wanted.  As I was already at the Boulder Bank I checked out the kingfisher population.  Plenty about, but mostly w-a-y beyond the reach of my camera to get good close-ups.  This chap did make me quite happy though......."Catch, toss, gulp, smug, next!"  It was a lesson in checking out my patience though as I sat almost stock-still for the best part of an hour.  The interesting thing was that they started to land on closer and closer rocks so if I can commit (and manage!) a couple of hours on a rising tide.......  Think I'll need a foam cushion, a flask of coffee, a warmer jacket and gloves ........oh, and crossed fingers!  What would be really nice is to have the new lens I've ordered but COVID shipping has put pay to them arriving in the country any time soon.  Popped along to see P to check in on plans for a bubble session at next Monday's camera club.  Should be fun :)

Oh - and I learned a new word today.........quintych.  Self explanatory really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.