Over and Out

This has been the most difficult day full of heartache and tears. 

I'm not ready to write everything I want to about him but I will try and write something. 

Talisker weaved his way into my life 8 and a half years ago as a 4 month old pup. He was so big, he didn't even look like a pup. 

Over the years his personality grew to fit his size.... And then became even bigger than him. He just oozed happiness and joy and reassurance. He definitely had a sense of humour and used it regularly. He could also manage to beg for food without actually begging... Or just be so bloody humorous and cute you couldn't say no. At the In-laws house after dinner, a ritual would be performed.... The Encheesiation of The Dogs. Somehow, early on, Talisker managed to wangle 'Secret Cheese' after the encheesiation ceremony. And that is how it was from then on. 

He loved everyone. He was also very sensitive and knew how to behave with different people. After me and him had moved to Orkney, I put him forward to work as a Therapet for Canine Concern. He flew through his assessment and spent a year visiting various Adult placements before being accepted to work with children. Again, he behaved appropriately for each child/placement. Apparently he made quite an impression on the children and they were always asking when he was coming again. He really did make a difference to so many people. Even people who were fearful of dogs... He managed to weave his way gently into their hearts and smother their fears with floof. Lots of floof! 

He had the biggest smile and was generally ecstatic about life, swimming, running, chasing, hunting, eating and sleeping. 

He loved Gorgeous as much as he loved me and they had their own routines, mostly initiated by Talisker and mostly but not all involving food. It was a joy to share him with someone who understood him and loved him as much as I did. 

He was my first dog. He was my protector, my shadow and my rock. He changed me for the better and I cannot be more grateful for his big presence in my life.

He totally stole the hearts of those that met him, even people who hadn't met him but have seen him here or on Facebook. 

I am so proud to call him my dog and to have shared his love with so many people

He has left us far to soon, aged just 8 and a half. He was diagnosed on Saturday with an inoperable tumour and internal bleeding. He has been thoroughly spoilt and loved all weekend but there was a noticeable decline and so today we did the last kind thing for him. 

Today we put him to rest in his favorite spot in the garden. Just as the vet prepared, the sun broke out and the birds started chirping their hearts out in the tree right above us. 

He deserved the best life and I think we managed to give him that. 

Photo from his last walk today... And extra. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.