Carrying on a theme from the 14th May

I thought I’d opt for another low image of a trunk sitting in a pot.   This time its a Cedrus Deodara but a bonsai version, and I’ve added some of the foliage to sit alongside (or over the top in the portrait version).  This one will be forty or maybe forty-five or maybe even 50 years old.  My dad bought it at Harlow Carr years ago and I rescued it on an occasion when I was looking after his garden (it was blowing around in a tiny pot).  I think he began the bonsai process and it’s continued as it couldn’t expand any more inside the pot.  I think at some point I might have to sacrifice the pot to get at the roots.  It’s getting harder and harder to water when it is dry and I’ll not manage to get it out of the existing pot intact as its a curved bowl shape.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.