randomgirl

By randomgirl

Seed heads

These are seed heads from the Aconites we have growing beside our kitchen door. Every January these are the first flowers of the year in our garden. They're bright yellow and like to open up in the sun. It's always so pleasing to see them at that time of year, when it's still the depths of Winter here.

Their flowers went over a couple of months ago, but it was only the other day that my husband noticed the seeds that were just sitting in the old flower heads, ready and waiting to fall out as soon as they're touched. I picked a few seed heads today to be able to give some seeds to my Dad, to see if they'll grow in his garden. I happened to notice how pretty their shape is, so then I ended up taking some photos of them. I got quite engrossed in it for a while, but then I had to go and do more chores!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.