ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Carrots.

Lots of them. Well, actually only three, but it felt like I was grating them for 6 months.... All worth it though, when Mum arrived in Aberdeen for Mothers' Day weekend after a horrible journey and I could present her with a cup of tea and a slice of homemade cake. I made it last night and unfortunately I think I over-baked it slightly, but with the lime-flavoured frosted icing it was quite nice all the same.

I had been prepared to leave work at lunchtime today, but Mum's train had signal problems outside Newcastle, and her journey ended up being spread over 3 trains and a bus. It meant I got an extra bit of work done and I might be able to go in at lunchtime on Monday now :o)

I've had a fairly busy week at work so far, and have also managed to squeeze in a driving lesson and a trip to the dentist (the latter being far more nerve-wracking). HuskyLugs headed over for dinner on Wednesday, and to discuss her very exciting trip to New Zealand that she returned from just before I left for Austria. We had a really nice catch up over a couple of bottles of really lovely NZ wine that she bought, which went well with the coconut chilli chicken I made. We stayed up yattering away until after midnight!

Back to today; after Mum and I had polished off some cake and coffee, we headed to the shops for a bottle (or four) of something stronger - to be demolished over the weekend of course; not just for tonight! M arrived home not long after we got back and he laid the fire while I made dinner. We had a lovely evening catching up and planning what to do with our weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.