Maureen6002

By maureen6002

‘Vegetable’

For today’s vegetable themed Tiny Tuesday, Freespiral, who is kindly hosting, has thankfully allowed us ‘fruity things and herbs and leafiness we can eat’. 


The classification of what makes a vegetable is contentious - the old tomato question, for example - so including fruit is clearly a good move to avoid any arguments! However, as my ‘vegetable painting’ may go way beyond this, I think it best to check what Encyclopaedia Britannica says.

Vegetable, in the broadest sense, any kind of plant life or plant product, namely “vegetable matter”; in common, narrow usage, the term vegetable usually refers to the fresh edible portions of certain herbaceous plants—roots, stems, leaves, flowers, fruit, or seeds.

So, I raid the store cupboard and the garden, and get together lentils, bulgar wheat, mustard seeds, sesame seeds, couscous, cloves, star anise, rosemary leaves and flowers, mint leaves, chive flowers, a tiny sprig of thyme - all the spring growth has to offer, some holy basil and the tiniest edible pansy flower I can find. 

The result is, I feel, disappointingly messy (see extra) so I decide to call upon the magic of my KaleidaCam App. And there you have it - today’s Blip. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.