Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Trick

Today I decide to take on the world of skateboarding and scootering. Well, at least to photograph it! I’ve decided that ‘trick’ rhymes with ‘pick’, and ‘Dan’s Den Wheeled Play Area’ in Eirias Park is an ideal place to see tricks being performed. 

The idea of ‘play area’ is misleading; this is far more risky and skilful than mere play. When I arrive, there are some little ones in the early stages of trick-development, watched on by a mum with far more courage that I think I would have as she watches them ride the half-pipes, handrails, funboxes, vert ramps, stairsets, quarter pipes, spine transfers, pyramids, banked ramps, full pipes, pools, bowls, snake runs - let’s be honest, I have no idea what any of these are, but apparently they’re the kind of thing you find in skateboard parks. 

I am expecting skateboarders, but in fact, most are on scooters - those tiny toy-like stunt contraptions. The boarders will come later. The older lads - it is male dominated - are lovely with the little ones and welcoming to me when I ask if I can photograph them practising. In fact, the experts amongst them clearly relish the chance to show off their skills. 

The boarders arrive - serious, achingly cool in their attire. They need time to warm up, they tell me, engaging in some athletic stretches at the side of the arena. 

Gradually, they start to move. In many ways, their tricks are far less impressive than the scooter riders who have lifted high into the air above the gradients, one even turning a complete somersault before he lands. Yet the freedom of the boarders’ movements, unrestrained by gripping onto handlebars, their the use of weighted balance, set up some gorgeous lines. So - what to choose - skateboards or scouters? In the end I feel I have to go for the best trick - even if it’s not necessarily the best image due to the background! Such a difficult choice. My other favourites are in the collage extra. 

Thanks to Laurie54 for hosting! 

Incidentally, a word about Dan, in whose memory the area stands. Teenage sweethearts, Daniel Cleverley and Kirsty Burvill died after a youth torched a council storeroom in Eirias Park, Colwyn Bay in October 2001, not knowing they were inside. Daniel’s parents campaigned to build a youth centre called Dan’s Den, and this in an off-shoot of this project - they showed such courage and purpose from their awful tragedy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.