100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 38

As well as going to bed early, this morning, I was up early - before 7.30 - because I had to make a visit to the Sorting Office, which thankfully is only just down the road from where we live.

Yesterday afternoon, whilst we were having our lunch, the postman put a card through our door, without evening knocking or ringing the bell, to say that there was a parcel that was too big for our letterbox and we needed to go and collect it or arrange for a redelivery.  This made me rather cross because we had actually been in the house!  Of course, you can’t collect something the same day, so I had to leave it until today.

Although Mr. HCBA is much better, he still can’t drive at the moment, so I wanted to get it done and dusted early, so after putting in his eye drops, off I went just before 8 o’clock, the time they open.  There was quite a queue so I had to wait my turn, and it was quite chilly at that time of the morning.  I did tell the man behind the counter that I was cross that the postman hadn’t even knocked - and in fact, I heard the lady in front of me telling him the same story.  He apologised profusely and said he was sorry, but said I should email and complain, which I will do.

Whilst waiting in the queue, I was looking around to see if I could find anything abstract for today’s Blip.  All along the fence at the side of the Sorting Office is some metal artwork, or should I say a metal sculpture, put up in 2008 and it says on the sign outside the office, “This design depicts four horses of the first Mail Coach racing over the Downland surrounding Swindon.  It is based on the ancient chalk horse cut above Uffington and is made from a postman’s footprints.  Fabricated by Chris Dale (Welding) of Devizes; Artwork is by Ancestor Designs.”  

This certainly brightens up the long fence and after just a little fartnarkling, gives me Number 38 in my 100 Abstracts Challenge for the Mamie Martin Fund, which supports young women and girls in their secondary education in North Malawi.  Today, we can learn about another young lady:

DESIREE - her father died when she was at primary school and her mother could not afford her secondary school fees.  However, after support from the Fund, Desirée finished her secondary education and then attended Mzuzu University where she graduated with a BA in Education, something she could never have done on her own.  

If you feel able to help in any way, then please visit my JustGiving page, the link for which is below.

“The meaning of life is to find your gift;  
     the purpose of life is to give it away.” 
Pablo Picasso

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.