100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 39 & ABSTRACT THURSDAY

I decided to look at the theme for today’s Abstract Thursday challenge, and to my delight it was “Lines”.  I was given this biscuit box as a gift a couple of years ago, but obviously the biscuits are long gone.  However, I got it out of the cupboard only yesterday intending to use it for one of my 100 Abstracts shots so seeing the theme for today, this just dropped into my lap and is a "Two for One"!

The black velvet trousers were pressed into service again, and after very little fartnarkling today, here is number 38 in my 100 Abstracts Challenge for the Mamie Martin Fund, which helps young women and girls to complete their secondary education in North Malawi.  Here is some information about another inspirational young lady:

MERCY MVULA - lost both her parents when she was very young. She was cared for by her maternal grandmother for five years and then by other family members. In the first term her uncles and relatives contributed to her fees but there was no money after that. Like many other pupils, she was sent home, but after obtaining a MMF bursary and was able to return to school. Her maternal grandfather used his pension to pay for her first two years at University but struggled thereafter, graduating only because of support from her fellow students and other well wishers.

Mercy now helps MMF girls by offering mentor-ship and career guidance sessions to inspire and enlighten groups of girls in terms of how they might plan and face the future.  She feels that many girls in primary and secondary schools do not have clear goals and lack models, especially those living in rural areas, who can help them see beyond their current situation.  A case of one of the girls giving back after receiving so much help from the MMF.  Mercy is hoping to study for a Masters in Humanitarian Assistance and crisis Management in Vermont, USA sometime this year provided she can raise enough money for the fees.

In other news - I helped (or hindered) Mr. HCB in the greenhouse yesterday afternoon - I could see he was itching to do things, but because it was quite dusty, I had to make sure he didn’t do anything and kept well out of the way.  I don’t think I’m cut out to be a Greenhouse Apprentice though - it’s too small a space for me - and Mr. HCB was not best pleased when I kicked over a full watering can and flooded the floor!  However, we (being the Royal "We") did pot on the latest plant delivery of chrysanthemums and when they grow, I shall be able to say “I started those off!”  

“Sometimes you can’t pay it back,
     so you just have to pay it forward.”
Randy Pausch - 1960-2008

If you have 10 minutes to spare, do look at this YouTube video of a Lecture that Randy Pausch gave before he died - he was so  inspirational, just like Mercy Mvula! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.