FLOWER FRIDAY

First of all, many thanks to everyone who left kind “Get Well” messages for me yesterday, together with stars and hearts, all of which were much appreciated.  I spent most of the day in bed, and am fortunate enough to be able to sleep when I feel "under the weather".  Unfortunately, I appear to have "cricked" my neck, or have slept awkwardly, as although I feel better in myself today, my neck is very sore - hopefully paracetamols and a warm wheat bag on it will help.  One good thing is that I am still testing negative for Covid. 

I was determined to get dressed, so went out into the garden to get a shot of this lovely flower.  I blipped the bud last Friday, thinking it was an Allium, but according to the pack, purchased at Wilko's a couple of years and which fortunately, Mr. HCB had saved, it is a “Nectaroscordum or Siculum Honey Lily”.

However, when looking this up, Mr. Google tells me that it is also known as “Allium Siculum or Nectar-garlic”, as this is what Nectaroscordum means.  I also learned that "In botanical Latin, the epithet "siculus" means Sicily, so at some point in its long-ago past, this was probably native there, among other places in the Mediterranean” - a bit like my heritage!  It's amazing what you can learn from Mr. Google!

Apparently, the plant is animal-proof - since it’s from the onion family and not many animals like onions - the bees love it, so I hope they enjoy it today as it’s World Bee Day, it's a perennial and self sows, so we could have many more next year if we let the seeds disperse, so a win/win for this lovely plant.

I didn't stay out for long as it was raining and am now back inside and about to find the wheat bag for  my neck.  The rain appears to have settled in, so a day under the electric throw, with a wheat bag on my neck and my book will be the order of the day.

"Plant a garden in which
     strange plants grow
          and mysteries bloom."
Ken Kessey

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.