A WANDER AROUND THE GARDEN

I had a very lazy “getting up” this morning - had my shower, then my quiet time and before I knew it, it was 11 o’clock.  When I got downstairs, I knew that Mr. HCB must be in the garden because all the doors and windows were open in the conservatory and he was nowhere to be seen.  I eventually tracked him down, sitting on the patio, having a cold drink and looking rather hot.  

He told me he had been up and out before 8 a.m. and had just finished planting his runner beans next to his two new contraptions - and they are looking good!  He is so thrilled because every runner bean seed he planted has grown, so I guess I had better look out the runner bean chutney recipe, because hopefully we will have enough, not only to cook and have with our meals, but also to make into chutney.  I didn’t make much last year because Mum was so poorly, so have plenty of jars - just need to make sure I can get vinegar - hope the recent surge in gardening won’t mean there is a shortage!

I had a wander round the garden - fully dressed, I might add - and fortunately, our wild flower beds were in the shade, so I stopped to take several shots.  I’m not really sure what all the wild flowers are, because they were in a pack that was just sprinkled liberally on the two beds that wouldn’t sustain vegetables because the roots from the trees outside have invaded them.  However, they are all beautiful in their own way and have definitely enhanced that area of the garden instead of it lying brown and bare.

It was quite difficult getting a decent shot of this little flower because the tips on the long fronds were being blown about in the breeze.  Then I noticed that there was what I thought was a beetle on the flower, but on looking in Mr. HCB’s British Wildlife book, think it’s a common earwig - whatever it is, it can have its 15 minutes of fame on Blip and carry on munching.  If anyone recognises the flower, perhaps they could let me know what it is.

It’s another beautiful day and I daresay I will go for a walk again this afternoon, but I think Mr. HCB might rest, which is fine by me.  He works so hard and although we have adapted to our new way of life very well, I am aware that we both need our own space.  I have downloaded a new Worship CD so have lots more songs to sing, most of which I know off by heart - so will be serenading the trees again.  

“To find the universal elements enough; 
     to find the air and the water exhilarating; 
          to be refreshed by a morning walk 
               or an evening saunter... 
to be thrilled by the stars at night; 
     to be elated over a bird's nest 
          or a wildflower in spring - 
               these are some of the rewards 
of the simple life.”


John Burroughs 1837-1921

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.