FLOWER FRIDAY ON THURSDAY!

Mr. HCB was up early again and out in the garden, but I took my time and gently pottered until it was time to join an online Zoom Prayer Group, "Thy Kingdom Come” organised for people across Swindon, and in fact, globally, in the days leading up to Pentecost Sunday.

There are four different times 8 a.m., 10.00 a.m., 1.00 p.m. and 8.00 p.m. and the various 30 minute sessions will be led by different Churches from Swindon and District.  I didn’t read all the blurb properly, because it said at the bottom that the 10.00 a.m. slot each day will be for contemplative prayer - silent prayer - but that was OK - it was a good discipline to sit and be still in God’s presence for 20 minutes.  I’m not sure whether I will join this particular slot every day, but might even join more than one to see what the others offer and it’s always good to have a choice anyway.

After the Prayer Group, I went out to speak to Mr. HCB in the garden and happened to notice that another of Joan’s poppies was emerging from its bud - it’s not often that I see this, so I took a few shots.  

It made me think that often we are like this - a tight bud, closed and shut off from those around us - that could be by choice or just the circumstances we find ourselves in.  Then, we gradually open up until we are completely open and facing whatever situation we need to face.  I’ve said before that I believe we will all learn something from the circumstances we are in at the moment, and for you that might be that you have learned to be stronger and more capable and able to cope with things than you never thought you would a few months ago.  

If someone had asked us all six months ago how we would cope with having to stay indoors for weeks at a time with very little physical contact with the outside world, we would probably have balked at the idea - but most of us seem to have adapted and done well.  Of course, there are some who have felt the isolation more than others and I am fortunate to have someone like Mr. HCB, who lets me do my own thing - but then again, I let him do his own thing too!  

After I had taken this shot, I went out for my walk and a sing in my “sanctuary”  and the huge field five minutes away - I only saw one other person and having sung my heart out, I felt energised when I got back.  Despite being very much a “people”  person, I am finding that I really enjoy my own company and can honestly say I am never bored.  In fact, the days go very quickly - and we have had such beautiful weather - which has been a real bonus.  The dusting might get done one day - but no-one is visiting us at the moment, so why bother when there are more exciting things to do?  We are still meeting up with our next-door neighbours every day at 4.00 p.m for Afternoon Tea - but decided that we were eating too much cake - so have reluctantly told Lynn that she must stop tempting us.

Keep well and safe, everyone, and perhaps you can think of someone you know who might not be coping so well - why not give them a call and have a chat - you might find that you help them to open up.

“And the day came 
     when the risk to remain 
          tight in a bud 
               was more painful 
than the risk it took 
     to blossom.”
Anais Nin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.