WHO'S A BUSY BEE THEN?

As I had almost 80 unread and therefore unanswered emails in my Inbox, I was determined to sort them out last night and stayed up until the early hours doing just that.  It was very satisfying when I went to bed, knowing I only had 10 emails in my Inbox and most of the others had either been dealt with or deleted.  I have resolved to deal with them as soon as they come in so that this doesn’t happen again - well that’s the plan at the moment, but time will tell if it works!

Because I was so late going to bed, I was quite late getting up, so wasn’t surprised to find that Mr. HCB was already out in the garden so I made him a cup of coffee and went out to find him.  What a change in the weather - yesterday it was very hot, but today there is a very high wind, which almost blew me off my feet and the plants in the garden are being battered and blown.

I found Mr. HCB in the greenhouse, concentrating on pricking out pansies and planting tomatoes - he very rarely has his radio on, and is quite content to do the job in hand and think his own thoughts - such simple pleasures and he's just like his Dad in that respect.

I noticed that Mr. HCB had taken the cover off one of the beds and you can see the lettuce coming on well in the bottom shot of my collage.  It’s a good job he has removed the cover, because it has been found before in our neighbours’ garden - and with a wind this strong, that could easily have happened again.  He is hoping that both his new contraptions will stand against the wind - he tells me they are pegged down very well, so time will tell and he says he has more pegs ready, just in case.

In the top left shot in the collage, you will see one of Mr. HCB’s contraptions with the runner beans planted and between the rows he is going to plant beetroot and leeks, so that should keep us well supplied during the summer and early winter months.

I went for my usual walk, which was very pleasant and saw lots of damselflies, large dragonflies and lots of other insects and of course had a good sing on my way round the field.

It’s a Bank Holiday weekend in the UK, so I do hope that people will be sensible, although judging by the News from last weekend, they will be out in their thousands jostling shoulder to shoulder with others - just hope there isn’t another spike of CV.  Have a great weekend!

“The glory of gardening: 
     hands in the dirt, 
          head in the sun, 
               heart with nature. 
To nurture a garden 
     is to feed not just the body, 
          but the soul.” 
Alfred Austin 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.