ANOTHER GOOD DAY!

Our guest for the Girls About Town programme couldn’t make it this morning so we had to “talk amongst ourselves” for almost two hours - which I think we managed very well;  we are girls after all!

We always do the obligatory “selfie” to go on the Facebook page and then I thought it would be good to do a shot of our feet -  and I just had to take one with mainly Jo because even she admitted that she now puts her make up on to come on the programme because she knows I will be about to take a photograph!

So here you have the three of us at the top left - Clare’s feet and mine at the top right, Jo’s beautifully painted toenails in her silver sandals in the bottom right and Jo looking very coy with Clare looking over her shoulder at the bottom left.

We are forbidden to mention the “B” word and never talk about anything political, but we did have some good discussions - actually I was in the minority because I like to write cards and letters but Jo and Clare don’t write that much - however, I still think it is better to get a handwritten letter or card, rather than one done on the computer - but at the end of our discussion I think we had to agree to disagree.  

After the programme I went out for lunch with some friends of Girls About Town - and what a spread that was.  You may remember a few weeks ago that Lyn, one of the ladies from the Jovial Monk, proposed to her partner of many years standing, on air - and this was a sort of little engagement party as well as a “thank you” to those who help at the Ridge Coffee Club.  There was lots of lovely food and plenty of Prosecco - I just wish I had known that, I would have caught the bus!!  

I had a long chat with Mark, Lyn’s son, who is very interested in photography and who is going to Thailand on holiday next week - I was explaining to him about Blip and encouraging him to sign up - as a way of keeping a record of his holiday and so that he gets into the habit of taking a photograph every day - I hope he does, because this is such a great community.

A good time was had by all and we are now are waiting for friends to arrive for a cuppa and catch-up chat this afternoon.  When they go, we have to dash off to meet our grandson for coffee - and then I think after such a busy day, I will be ready for bed!

I do honestly mean it when I say that I don’t know how people who are retired can say they are bored - there is a big world out there with lots to do and explore and never enough time, as far as I am concerned.

“When people are bored, 
     it is primarily with their own selves 
          that they are bored.” 
Eric Hoffer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.