Audrey

No visit to the Suffolk coast would be complete without a reference to the Avocet which became the logo for the RSPB following its return to the UK in 1941 after the flooding of the coastal area as a defence strategy during the second world war. With their elegant shape and striking white and black plumage, they are reminiscent of Audrey Hepburn as Eliza Doolittle at Ascot.
Mr PB took himself off to the races at Yarmouth today, and dropped me off at Dunwich Heath. I walked back to our cottage along the coastal strip, calling in at a couple of the Minsmere hides on the way. The weather has been extraordinary with some very heavy thunderstorms interspersed with sunny intervals. I got caught just the once as I passed the power stations at Sizewell but it cleared up just as I got to Sizewell Tea, in time for a spot of lunch. I'm glad I'd decided to don all my waterproofs. 
If you like cute, check out the fledgling Stonechat in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.