Marionb

By Marionb

All Is Calm...

All it took was about 2 hours of freeway driving and a five-mile boat ride  to get me far away from the urban chaos, the roar of the 401, the never-ending fire and police sirens, the revving of motorcycle engines, and neighbours working on new construction projects.  We are lucky that the lockdown regulations here have little loop-holes. The only people allowed to use the marinas and be on the water are those who have boat-access-only properties.  Well, we cannot get to our property without a boat, so we are the lucky ones. My daughter and son-in-law picked me up at our marina in Parry Sound, and we were at the cottage by lunch time. What a beautiful, calm day - not a breath of a breeze. Calm waters are typical in mornings and evenings here but the wind usually comes up in the afternoon. Not today; it was calm all day. And hot; it was so hot, we actually went in for a dip..a very quick dip.. because the water is only 60 degrees right now!  Calm water is perfect for a lot of things like paddle boarding  - something I have yet to try, and probably won't.. and for evening boat rides. I declined to go tonight and am sitting here in the screened-in porch instead, writing this and listening to a Barred Owl hooting in the woods across the back bay..( "Who cooks for you?" I have been told is how you know it is a Barred Owl calling?) I added an extra - a sign I saw at the harbour earlier today...and yes, we do have bears, but haven't seen one yet today! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.