Bring On Summer...

I'm Ready! I have the basket! 

The day started out on a low note this morning..My hair dresser had called in sick ( hmm just before the long weekend ) and my appointment was cancelled! Drat..my dreams of being glamorous by noon were suddenly shattered...

So I needed another plan for the day..and decided to re-visit my wardrobe   - the one that takes up not one but three closets, but can still not offer up anything suitable to wear? Some items have been in there so long that they have shrunk! Others make me wonder whatever possessed me to buy them in the first place?  All that sportswear? For what mountain climbing expedition? Those glittery shawls? For what formal balls? Belts? When was the last time I wore a belt? To hold up what? Black patent leather shoes with silver toes? Yeah, right...time to toss 'em.. well, some of them...or at least a few of them..So, off I went to the Salvation Army Thrift Store with quite a large bag full, feeling rather virtuous and dreaming of all that extra storage space I had just created...only to find......

A picnic basket! A large  picnic basket! for only $15.00 A picnic basket perfect for the lifestyle to which I could easily become accustomed.. dining alfresco in parks, on the beach, on road trips and vacations..on Sunday afternoon drives...A picnic basket that would  need a matching picnic blanket for lounging upon the grass, or on the beach, a lovely picnic-style tablecloth...and of course, unbreakable wine glasses, a small cutting board, a sharp knife ..salt and pepper shakers.. and oh yes, napkins..one cannot forget the napkins...and perhaps a new picnic-size cooler for the perishables and the wine...How fortunate that I had created that extra bit of storage space in my closets! 

Let the fun of gathering all the picnic accessories begin!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.