South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Digging up the past.....

Many years ago, when I lived in Chichester, I went to evening classes run by Mr. Alec Down who was a Director of Excavations in Chichester. As part of the class, you were asked to volunteer at the actual archaeological digs on a Saturday morning, which was very interesting. I carried on doing this for several years after the classes finished - often working all weekend.
I also helped with the drawing of some of the finds. This photo shows a couple of things I drew - a wine flagon with glass seal (no. 6) and a glass bottle (no. 7). As soon as the book about the excavations was published I went through the drawings and initialled in pencil the ones that I had drawn - which is helpful as I wouldn't remember now! I do, however, particularly remember enjoying drawing the seal on the wine flagon that I've featured. (The left-hand part of the items shows the thickness of the glass and the right-hand the shape of the outside).
It's been snowing all day here today, and there are icicles hanging from the shed - we've never seen that before in the 23 years that we've lived here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.