Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Memory smells

This morning I woke to snow flakes which did not settle. I had some errands to run in the village and the weather was awful, snow flakes swirling in every direction together with an icy wind that seemed to come direct from the North Pole. With the snow flakes beating in my face I decided it was not a good day to go in search of something to photograph outside, as my lens would probably get the same treatment as my face.

When I got home and saw my Mother's Day cards from yesterday, I got thinking about the women in my family and my childhood memories of my mother and grandmother. One of my strongest childhood memories is of how nice my mother always smelt - perfume or soap, something deliciously feminine.

As I was not going outdoors in the foul weather I decided to have a play around with trying to capture those memory smells into something visual....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.