Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Rhododendron and lilac

An exciting day. First the Sky engineer called to sort out my dish - I have had zero reception for over a year, and poor reception for more than one year before that. I haven't been willing to call them out due to the health problems, but finally decided it needed to be fixed. The engineer did an excellent job, and the precautions they took were very thorough.

While that was going on, my new passport was delivered. There is absolutely no possibility of me needing it for travel purposes, but as the UK government is copying Trump and the Republicans in the USA by proposing to only allow those with photo ID to vote, and I voluntarily gave up my Driving Licence a couple of years ago, and had not renewed my passport for 4 years, I was in danger of being disenfranchised. This despite the fact that there is no evidence of any more than minimal voter fraud either here or in the USA - the move is clearly intended to prevent those who they do not want to vote from casting a vote.

Then there was a delivery of some of my medications that were running low.

Next came a visit from the gardener. The grass had grown very long since his visit 2 weeks ago, so he had to spend some time cutting it and generally tidying up. He also brought some plants for tubs and troughs, but in the end we decided that the weather is still unfavourable for putting them in, so he will bring them back in 2 weeks time, when we hope that the weather will be a bit warmer.

This was followed by a delivery from Amazon - I've been trying to reduce what I get from them, but as I can't get to any shops now, I really can't avoid them completely.

So there hasn't been much opportunity to go out or do anything interesting today, and hence the photograph is taken about 2 metres from my back door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.