YORKSHIREBRED

By Yorkshirebred

Recce walk

Joined Corinthian and R on a recce walk from Bingley to Shipley along the canal.  First thing we saw was a traffic jam of narrowboats!  Several barges waiting to go through 3 Rise locks and others coming along which would have to join the queue.  Liked this image showing canal, road and rail - reminded me of the project I had to do on transportation for ‘A’ Level History.  At the time I thought it sounded boring, but it turned out to be fascinating.  Spotted trainee Canal & River Trust volunteers at Dowley Gap - they all seemed to be enjoying themselves.  Goslings seen at Saltaire, and various great narrowboat names including my namesake (except I’m no lady, haha!!).  Mills at Saltaire in the lovely sunshine, and mill chimneys and old mills at Shipley along with an interesting “ark”!  An interesting walk with plenty to see amongst some lovely scenery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.