Gourmandaise

This trip has had its culinary moments, but without a doubt our brekkie stop this morning has just gone to the top of the list.  My sister-in-law had told me about the Gourmandaise Cafe in Albany but nothing could prepare me for the reality of what we were in for.  It took us about 20 minutes to decide what to order but in the end we both ordered the Tour Goule which was an extraordinary rice dish (origin Normandy).  The owners Xavier and Jeanette have created something quite special.  I couldn't believe I walked out of the cafe WITHOUT buying a croissant but we did buy a small and delicious quiche each for lunch.  I have added some extras and as you can see Mauzee was quite entranced with her glorified rice pudding!  

We arrived late this afternoon in Bremer Bay after having to divert about 70km due to road works on the South Coast Highway.  We hadn't counted on that but still managed to arrive in good time.  A very manageable driving day tomorrow because of our efforts today.  Glad to see that many of our blip buddies have jumped on board for the ride again.  If you look at a satellite view of where we are tonight you will see that we're in a very nice little caravan park near the inlet.
Mauzee has just posted some great shots taken out near Frenchman's Beach today.  Well worth trundling over to have a look.  We're flat out working what to post and I don't think I've ever posted so many extras!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.