Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Messing about

..with light.

Today was dark, wet and very windy - I know, Hazel and I went for a walk and nearly got blown over.  So I decided on a still life.

I've always been interested in the techniques used to photograph engraved glass.  My uncle, Laurie, was a glass engraver, as was my cousin.  The work they produced was exquisitely detailed, but what always fascinates me is the way it's been photographed.  You only have to try doing it yourself on a wet Friday to realise just how difficult it is to control the light, and without the studio or the knowledge, any comparison is fairly dumb.  But I did enjoy myself all the same.

Not much else.  K's just got back from the charity shop with something hugely blippable, which I shall temporarily nick.  But that's for another day!

Have a kind and happy weekend  xx

PS: The larger glass is a 19th century medicine glass with measures for teaspoons and tablespoons.  The smaller is a minim glass, also for measuring out medicine but probably in drops

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.