WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Live!

A live concert! What a way to celebrate our wedding anniversary! It was outdoors of course with strict social distancing. I couldn't really wander about while it was happening, so most of my photos have people's heads in them. A couple of others in extras. The show was by Laurent Cavalié, Occitan musician extraordinaire, and Marie Coumes: songs, poetry and anecdotes about the struggles of winemakers in the Midi, appropriately held at the cave cooperative in Fabrezan. Some of the stories had been much embroidered I think. It was overcast but luckily not cold, so it was quite comfortable sitting outdoors till 8:30, appropriately dressed.

Earlier, our anniversary lunch was a low-key affair at home. We jointly did the cooking; S made a wonderful main course of chicken pieces roasted with mustard and breadcrumbs with a cream and tarragon sauce, served with carrots and new potatoes. 

My contribution was a complete disaster, a rhubarb and custard tart from Gary Rhodes' book. Unwisely I used his pastry recipe instead of my own (it was hard to roll out, oozed butter when cooked, and fell apart when I served the tart). And his crème patissière recipe: hopelessly runny, I was still trying to rescue it just as we were sitting down for the main course. And overcooked rhubarb, but that was my fault. I ended up putting the rhubarb in the tart shell and pouring the custard over the crumbling mess on the plates. At least it tasted OK.

We are planning a more sophisticated lunch for S's birthday tomorrow ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.