One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Coleslaw of sorrow

"Why, why o why, did I forget the coleslaw?" seems to say Robbie Emmet. Or not. 

Went to the city centre with Luca as he had his first actual workshop in real life with actual people not-on-Zoom with the rest of the Dublin Youth Theatre crew. As it was his first time going to Belvedere College, I offered to go into town with him, using the excuse that I'd take my camera with me. Truth be told the heads haven't been doing much business over the last 15 months and there is much catching up to be done in the stealing, pickpocketing and mugging-for-a-phone sectors of the economy. And as expected, there were quite a few hyenas roaming the side streets off the main arteries. 

The city centre was busy. A lot busier than I would have expected. I had mixed feelings about it. On the one hand, it was great to see so many people out and about again. You could feel the sense of excitement about the place. On the other hand, and although the vaccination programme is making good progress, I saw quite a lot of pretty irresponsible behaviour. As if today marked day 1 of the miraculous vanishing of Covid into thin air. 
It is in thin air alright. Just no quite vanished. 
Not just yet. I'd really hate to see another heavy handed lockdown being imposed. The solution is somewhere between what was forced down our throats since 1 January and the carry-on I witnessed today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.