JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 142: Rainy

The weather is starting to grind me down a bit. At first, after our bone dry April, I was grateful for the rain: the trees in the orchard desperately needed it, as did the whole garden. We are on chalk downs, so the soil is very free draining, though there are some patches with more clay. However, three weeks into May we've had only two or three sunny days and everything has been very well watered. Most days are heavily overcast, often with shower after shower merging into long spells of rain. I pop out with the camera in the longer pauses to photograph raindrops on cabbage plants or weeds waving in the wind.

Today a brief patch of sunshine happily coincided with a time when I could get out for a while; but a phone call and a quick follow-up email delayed me, so by the time I left the house for my planned half hour circuit of the village, it was clearly going to rain. I managed a few reasonable photos before it started - raindrops on poppy buds, raindrops on horse chestnut candles - but I was hoping for a change from plants and flowers. By the time I reached this pretty house in a lovely setting, fine rain was falling steadily, but the spring greens look good wet and I liked the contrast with the pinky brown foliage and roof tiles. After only one more photo an increasingly heavy downpour reminded me that replacement rainwear is long overdue. I wrapped the camera up inside my fleece and leaking waterproof and headed home at briskest pace I could manage. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.