Snapjax

By Snapjax

Sport on Sunday

Meanwood CC is a sloping pitch set amongst old stone buildings and woods. It is situated next to the Myrtle Tavern (Pup and Kitchen), which has plenty of outdoor seating in this quiet leafy corner of NW Leeds.

I am enjoying the experience of watching different sport events and the photographic opportunities they offer.

The extra is a photo of me aged 16.  My team, Chelsea Supporters , are at Pontins, Burnham Sands  taking part in a five day 5-a-side tournament. I am away from Home and School with fellow School and team mates Tina & Christine.
  
My parents were not liberal in any sense, but I think Mum knew when to give a little. I remember  In June 1977 she wrote a note to School excusing my absence for a day so that I, along with C &T, could go to Wimbledon.  Christine was a huge fan of Sue Barker, (French Open champ), so we watched her  early match on an outside court. Nastase was there, a few of the teenager USA big hitters too. I knew I wanted to see V Wade play, and I did. I watched her serve & volley to victory over D Fromholtz on centre court (possibly Quarter final?) that evening. That's slightly Forrest Gumpish.   Andy Murray, God Bless you for giving GB back  some dignity!

At the start of 1979 - 80 season, Chelsea Supporters facing relegation and a depleted squad amalgamated with Feltham United. FU played in the Hounslow & District Ladies Football League too, but they were a Club.   Attached to a social club on a large council estate in Middx.  this team  had mature, experienced players with a well organised club feel. W
As  players we developed skills in our newly found positions, we worked well together. We played league and cup games between September - April , We played 11-a-side tournaments in the Winter sun of Palma Majorca,
and in Malta. I grew as a player, physically too,  now a reasonable  5'8" but still only 9.5 stone wet through. We bonded as a team. We sang raucous songs, played pool and liked pints.  In April 1980 we reached and won the Russell Cup Final. I found the Match programme last week; unfortunately , after  41 years it is too faded to gain a readable image. I did reread my player profile and I quote.. "This season Jacki has improved tremendously, appearing in every match this term".  ( I wish my School reports had been as glowing .)  At the End-of-Season Awards Ceremony I was presented with the Team  'Player of the Year' trophy.  My fellow players and our support team  had recognised and rewarded my commitment, reliability and improvement.  I had little Finesse in terms of ball skills, I never scored a goal in competitive play nor bothered the referee for the Player of The Match award. I was lucky to play alongside a level-headed, experienced Centre-back and we worked well as a pair, that helped a lot.  I hung up my boots at the end of the following season. 
Who says I am not a team player!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.