Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Distant Docks

This morning, I look through our east-facing bedroom window and notice a distant view I’ve never seen before. Liverpool docks. Admittedly, I usually look out of the north-facing window which affords a view across the rooftops to the sea and distant wind turbines, but I’m also pretty certain seeing the docks with the naked eye from here is an unusual phenomenon. Through my 600mm lens of course it’s clearer, though at this distance, it’s never going to be award winning photography. 

The docks at Seaforth stand just proud of the Wirral peninsula, a straight line east from Colwyn Bay. I’m guessing it’s about thirty miles from us as the crow flies, though it’s a 60 mile journey of some 75 minutes by road. It seems a good choice for my Blip today, as the return of the persistent rain means I’ve only managed a short camera-less walk. 

Thanks for the love shown yesterday for my nightjar. According to the RSPB blog from Conwy, he stayed all day, contentedly posing on his heron roost with just occasional shuffles. At dusk he flew off, and as predicted, has not returned. It was the first sighting ever in the reserve and has clearly gone down in history as a momentous occasion! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.