Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Land's End to John O'Groats

A cold and wet day so I had little enthusiasm to go outside. So today I have chosen a picture of my progress on the virtual Conqueror Challenge, from Land’s End to John O’Groats. Although a long challenge, 1774.2 kilometres, I wanted to complete this one first, it is in the UK after all, before choosing another.
 
A few week’s ago I set myself this challenge to virtually walk from Land’s End to John O’Groats within a year. My “pace marker” in red, shows where I should be to complete the walk within my set time. I am over one hundred kilometres ahead, but during the winter I will walk less so getting ahead now will be a bonus. I use the steps recorded on my Galaxy Watch each day and enter them into the Conqueror app.  
 
The site appears to be very well organised with lots of different challenges and although it is not free, it costs only a little more for the whole challenge than my gym membership for one-month pre-COVID-19. It also includes virtual postcards of interesting places that you pass, which I will make into a book once I have completed the challenge. The fee also covers the cost of planting five real trees, at certain points along the way; in my opinion that is worth the cost of the challenge without the use of the app and the medal when you complete the walk. There are about twenty challenges to choose from and once I have competed this one I will buy another one.
 
A boring afternoon watching a procession of F1 racing cars going round the street circuit at Monaco. I like F1 but I do not like street scenes, especially where overtaking is impossible.
 
The temperature at GMT noon once again was twelve degrees Celsius.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.