In Which Snoopy Gilds the Lily, Or Rather: Orchids

It is peak yard-saling time here in central PA, and this was a crazy-busy weekend for them. I saw a few postings on our local neighborhood Facebook group about items that were on sale for cheap (or even free!), and I realized I could hit a couple of them on my way up to the gamelands on Saturday's bike ride/walk.

So it was that the morning found me pedaling my bike up the hill, parking it among the trees, and then taking off to check out a few sales. It's really very fun and convenient, actually: going shopping without even driving into town! Yee-haw!

You will be happy to hear I spent a grand total of one fat dollar. Though I did admire some things - including a bunch of very nice antique cameras - that I did not end up buying. I also realized, of course, that I couldn't buy anything so big I couldn't carry it or stuff it into my sack.

Oh, I gave myself permission to get whatever I wanted. And what I wanted was apparently one little pink zippered case, one tin with geese on it (and a bunch of cute knick-knacks inside, which I only discovered upon my arrival home), an unopened, brand-new lip gloss from Pier One Imports, and a Snoopy with a paintbrush and some eggs in his hands. I also snagged a free frisbee at the second sale.

Fortunately, everything was small, and so I could tuck it into my daysack and continue on with my adventures in the Scotia Barrens. Half-way down the trail, I suddenly realized that the tiny Snoopy with his paintbrush could help do some touch-up work on the pink lady's slipper orchids. And so that is what was happening in this picture. Look, he even has a hat that matches the flowers!

Good work, Snoopy! They look VERY fresh and VERY pink!

The soundtrack song has to be about Snoopy, who is the star of this show. So here is Snoopy's Christmas, by the Royal Guardsmen. Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.