RavensRoost

By RavensRoost

Part of a Chorus

The Chorus of Frogs
I.
"Yaup, yaup, yaup,"
Said the croaking voice of a Frog;
"A rainy day
In the month of May,
And plenty of room in the bog."

II.
"Yaup yaup yaup,"
Said the Frog, as it hopped away;
"The insects feed
On the floating weed,
And I'm hungry for dinner to-day

III.
"Yaup, yaup, yaup,"
Said the Frog as it splashed about;
"Good neighbours all,
When you hear me call,
It is odd that you do not come out."

IV.
"Yaup, yaup, yaup,"
Said the Frogs; "it is charming weather;
We'll come and sup
When the moon is up,
And we'll all of us croak together."

~ Aunt Effie

The Pacific Tree Frog, also known as the NW Chorus Frog, is a tiny frog smaller than a penny and sometimes the size of a dime. In early spring we heard them calling loudly nightly. I found this little one under a pot when I moved it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.