Galloway_Matt

By Galloway_Matt

Skylarks, Bees and Cotton Grass......

I do seem to struggle with this picture every day thing. Life seems to get in the way or the words I write meander off into random places.
They are quite prone to do that. Being my harshest critic I then delete them as not good enough.

Life is a world full of fears and the choice between the safe option or facing whatever fear our minds have conjured.
Our minds are great at filling in gaps and finding a place to nurture a fear. Sometimes we help that fear grow and sometimes we choose to ignore it.
I’m hoping one day to no longer feel the need to fill in the gaps. There is a place for fear but that place isn’t in a story that I’ve created.

Saturday was a drive over to the Borders for a wander in the hills above St Mary’s Loch. The loch itself was busy with campers, bikers and people just visiting for the day. Making the most of having some freedom again.

The hills though were empty. Just how I like them. The weather still doing it’s best to impersonate Autumn but the sun did try to shine and the rain didn’t fall.
A climb up from the loch onto the ridge, the views opening up in all directions.
The sound of Skylarks as their voices erupt up into the sky from the long grass.
A meander through the heather accompanied by the bees.
A mossy section disguising water deeper than expected.
A view to the hills behind, the loch below and in front of me the Cotton grass is beginning to appear. One of my favourite moorland plants and one that’s worth lying down in the bog for to get a photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.