CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Flying skylark on Minchinhampton Common

I chose to drive over Minchinhampton Common this afternoon on my way to a certain shop in Nailsworth. The rain had cleared and I was pleased to have a chance to look out for skylarks again.

There was only a breath of wind which meant I could hear the singing of the skylarks and could place them in the sky above me more easily. I'd listen for the telltale changes in their tunes and then follow their descent. Several of them came down right over my head which was a challenging position for photographing them.

Once they had landed I could approach them quite easily and they would tolerate my presence. This one suddenly flew away and I only managed to get this shot which has it on the edge of the frame. I must return yet again when the sun is shining and I can sit on the ground and watch with more patience. 

I must thank the skylarks though as they make me smile so often with their bustling around on the ground, their flight and then of course their songs which can last for minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.