The banks of the River Severn near Epney

I indulged myself with a short walk late in the afternoon on the banks of the River Severn near Epney. I chose a different access path which lead from the road to the Severn Way, and in doing so managed to have a chat with a resident of the foreshore.

There are just a few homes by the water's edge, unsurprisingly as it is a fairly precarious position because of the flood dangers. The woman I met lived in one of four small terraced cottages, which were formerly fishermen's homes built in the 18th century. Originally they were one up, one down with a small garden each.

She mentioned that there had been a Severn Bore this morning which for her is a regular event. For most people it is rather thrilling experience. Once she met a man from New Zealand who had come to ride the Bore's wave.

I left to walk northwards along the path which was still wet from the flooding caused by the high tide. I spent quite a lot of time just standing listening to the sounds of various birds; gulls, crows, cormorants, ducks sparrows and a delightful reed warbler, which I managed to spot on odd occasions as it made its fleeting appearances in and out of the tall reeds.

I like views of the landscape looking north-westward towards the clump of trees on the top of May Hill at the northern boundary of the Forest of Dean.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.